تاريخ الشركة

مؤسسي شركة دبليو جي تاول ( ش.م.م)

محمد فاضل مؤسس الشركة
1858 - 1916
سلطان محمد فاضل 1890 - 1956
 
عبد الرضا سلطان 1910 - 1967
قمر سلطان 1914 - 1987
 
علي سلطان 1923 - 1996
أحمد سلطان 1925 - 1977
عبد الأمير سلطان 1929 - 1974
 

تأسست شركة دبليو جي تاول في عام 1866، وحصلت على اسمها من إسم مؤسسها (وليام جاك تاول) من المملكة المتحدة، وهي واحدة من أقدم الشركات العائلية في منطقة الخليج العربي.

وكان محمد فاضل، هو الجد الأكبر لعائلة سلطان، يعمل كتاجر تجزئة في مسقط . وأصبح الرئيس التنفيذي لشركة دبليو جي تاول. حيث نجح في توسيع أعمال الشركة، والتي بدأت في الحصول على وكالات تجارية للتأمين واستوردت الكيروسين المنتج في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية بالإضافة إلى السلع والمواد الإستهلاكية .

كانت تاول هي المصدر الرئيسي للشحن والنقل البحري، وعملت كوكيل لخطوط السفن البخارية البريطانية الهندية، والتي بدأت في عام 1862 أولى رحلاتها المنتظمة إلى الخليج العربي، حيث كانت تنقل الركاب والبضائع بين الهند ودول الخليج. وكما هو معروف إن ميناء مسقط هو الميناء المزدحم في المنطقة، وتعزيزا للحركة التجارية فقد قامت الشركة بتصدير التمور والرمان والأسماك المجففة والليمون الجاف وغيرها من المنتجات الزراعية والسمكية إلى دول أخرى في المنطقة و أوروبا.

وفي عام 1893 أصبح محمد فاضل نائبا لقنصل الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية .ثم أصبح ممثلا للقنصل بالإضافة إلى عمله كنائب في عام 1907. من بعد ذلك أصبح محمد فاضل المالك الوحيد للشركة في عام 1914 وقرر إبقاء هذا الاسم البريطاني كما هو عليه وأصبحت شركة دبليو جي تاول شركة عمانية معروفة.

وبعد وفاة محمد فاضل في عام 1916 تم تحويل مهام الشركة إلى ابنه الأكبر سلطان بن محمد. فعند توليه زمام الأمور في الشركة، وزع الأعمال بين أبنائه عبد الرضا، قمر، علي وأحمد وعبد الأمير (الجيل الثالث من العائلة)، إذ تولى كل منهم القيام بدوره في إدارة أعمال الشركة في مسعى إلى ضمان الإستمرارية .

وعلى مر السنين إستمرت الأعمال التجارية لشركة دبليو جي تاول في تطور وازدهار حتى في الأوقات الصعبة بل وعلى نطاق واسع في مختلف القطاعات. وبعد الحرب العالمية الثانية أنشأت الشركة فروعها في دبي والكويت والعراق.

وفي عام 1970 م عندما تولي صاحب الجلالة السلطان قابوس بن سعيد (حفظه الله ورعاه) مقاليد الحكم في السلطنة، إستهلت البلاد بعصر جديد من النهضة والازدهار. وطرأ تغيير في تركيز أعمال الشركة من مجرد تجارة إلى مشاريع البنية التحتية التي تحتاجها البلاد، فقامت الشركة بإنشاء مدينة سكنية متكاملة أطلق عليها إسم "مدينة السلطان قابوس" . بالإضافة إلى تأسيس أول مطبعة في السلطنة وهي مزون للطباعة والنشر والإعلان، وساهمت أيضا في تأسيس بنك الوطني العماني كأول بنك في السلطنة.

وتعتبر شركة دبليو جي تاول اليوم واحدة من أكبر الشركات في السلطنة، حيث تتكون من سبع مجموعات يديرها الجيل الرابع والخامس من عائلة سلطان . وتضم عدة شركات في مختلف القطاعات أهمها : المنتجات الإستهلاكية، الهندسة، الإنشاءات، العقارات، الخدمات، والسيارات....الخ.

History

The pioneers of  W. J. Towell & Co. LLC

Mohamed Fadhil The Founder
1858 - 1916
Sultan Mohamed Fadhil 1890 - 1956
 
Abdul Redha Sultan 1910 - 1967
Qamer Sultan 1914 - 1987
 
Ali Sultan 1923 - 1996
Ahmed Sultan 1925 - 1977
Abdul Amir Sultan 1929 - 1974
 

W.J. Towell & Co.LLC was founded in 1866 and named after William Jack Towell from the UK and is one of the oldest family businesses in the Gulf region. Mohamed Fadhil, the great grandfather of the Sultan family, was working as a retail trader in Muscat. He became the CEO of W.J. Towell & Co.LLC and succeeded in expanding the company's business. The company started to get mercantile agencies for insurance and imported US produced kerosene as well as commodities and consumer items. Shipping was the company's main strength and W.J. Towell became the agent of British India Steam Navigation (B.I.).

B.I started its first regular service to the Gulf in 1862, carrying passengers and goods between the Gulf countries and India. The port of Muscat was a busy port in the region at that time and W.J. Towell's business thrived. The company exported dates, pomegranate, dried fish, dry lime and other agricultural products to other countries in the region and in Europe.

Mohamed Fadhil became a deputy to the Consul of the USA in 1893. In 1907 he became the Consul's representative in addition to his position as deputy. He bought W.J. Towell & Co.LLC in 1914, and as Towell had become a well known company, he decided to keep this British name and W.J. Towell became an all Omani company.

After the death of Mohamed Fadhil in 1916 the business was transferred to his eldest son Sultan Mohamed Fadhil. Upon taking up the reins of the company, Sultan Mohamed Fadhil distributed the business among his sons; Abdul Redha, Qamar, Ali, Ahmad and Abdul Amir representing the family's third generation. Each one of them took on the role in managing the company's business in an attempt to guarantee its continuity.

Throughout the years the Towell business has managed to survive through difficult times and even expanded in different sectors. After World War II the company established branches in Kuwait, Iraq and Dubai.

When His Majesty Sultan Qaboos bin Said started his successful reign in the Sultanate of Oman in 1970, the country was introduced to a new era of renaissance and prosperity. Towell shifted focus from mere trade to infrastructure projects the Sultanate urgently needed such as the initiating the construction of an integrated housing city called Madinat Al Sultan Qaboos as well as starting the first printing press and contribute to establishing National Bank of Oman as the first private bank in the Sultanate.

Towell Group of Companies is today one of the largest companies in the Sultanate and comprises of seven clusters with members of the board from the fourth and the fifth generation of the Sultan family. The clusters are Enhance, Engineering, Construction, Property, Services and Trade, Consumer Product Division (CPD) and Automotive.